Comprehensive coverage

May-Britt and Edward Moser are the fourth married couple to win the Nobel together

Before them, Marie and Pierre Curie won; Their home and their son-in-law and the Cory couple shared the Nobel Prize, Alva and Gunta Myrdal won various prizes in separate years

Pierre and Marie Curie. Image: Neveshkin Nikolay /
Pierre and Marie Curie. illustration: Neveshkin Nikolay /

Winning of spouses, such as May-Britt and Edvard Moser, the Norwegians whoThey were informed today about their winning the Nobel Prize for Medicine for 2014 Together with their colleague John O'Keefe from Britain is not a common thing, but it has happened four times so far, three of them were shared, and in the fourth the couple won different awards in different years.

The first couple to win together were of course Marie and Pierre Curie who shared the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1903. to UNICEF).
In 1947, Gertie Rednitz Currie and Carl Ferdinand Currie shared the Nobel Prize for Medicine. Alva Myrdal, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize was the wife of Gunnar Myrdal who won the prize in economics in 1974

And there were parents and their offspring who won prizes together and separately. JJ Thompson won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1906 and his son George won the prize in 1937 after showing that light has wave properties. William Henry Bragg and his son William Lawrence Bragg shared the 1915 Physics Prize for the invention of the X-ray spectrometer.

Niels Bohr was awarded the Prize in Physics in 1922 and his son Aga Bohr in 1975. Mana Siegbahn, who won the prize in physics in 1924, is the father of Carl Siegbahn who won the prize in 1981. Hans von Oller-Chalpin who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1929 was the father of Olaf von Oller who won the Medicine Prize in 1970.

CV Raman won the award in 1930 and was the uncle of Subramanian Chandrashankar who won the same award in 1983. Arthur Kornberg won the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1959 and his son Roger won the Prize in Chemistry in 2006. Jan Tippergen who won the first prize in economics in 1969 was the brother of Nicholas Tinnhargen who won the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1973.. Nobel Prize Winners in Economics Paul Samuelson and Kent Arrow were brothers-in-law.

Leave a Reply

Email will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismat to prevent spam messages. Click here to learn how your response data is processed.