Comprehensive coverage

2017 Harvey Award winners: Prof. Tobin Marks and Prof. Karla Schatz

The Technion will award the prestigious prize to Prof. Tobin Marks for breakthroughs in chemistry and to Prof. Carla Schatz for her discoveries in the development of neural circuits in the visual system

From right to left: Prof. Tobin Marks and Prof. Karla Schatz. Photo: Technion spokespeople
Prof. Tobin Marks (right) and Prof. Karla Schatz. Photo: Technion spokespeople

On June 10, 2018, the Technion will award the 2017 Harvey Prize in the field of science and technology to Prof. Tobin Marx from Northwestern University (USA) and Prof. Carla Schatz from Stanford University (USA). The prize, in the amount of 75,000 dollars, is named after Leo Harvey (1973-1887). It was founded in 1972 as a bridge of goodwill between Israel and the nations of the world and is given annually to men and women who have made a significant contribution to humanity. About 20% of the recipients of the award later won the Nobel Prize. Last year's Harvey Laureates were shortly afterwards awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics. These are Prof. Emeritus Rainer Weiss and Prof. Emeritus Kip Stefan Thorn, who led to the discoveries of gravitational waves in 2015 as part of the LIGO experiment.

A far-reaching influence on modern chemistry

Prof. Tobin Marx (Tobin J. Marks) receives the award for his groundbreaking research that greatly influenced modern chemistry. These are studies of fundamental and useful importance in catalysis, in the chemistry of organolanthanides and actinides, in electronic and photonic materials and in coordinate chemistry.

Prof. Marx, born in 1944, is a professor in the chemistry department at Northwestern University. He completed a BA in chemistry at the University of Maryland in 1966 and a PhD at MIT in 1971. During his academic career, he won many awards, including the Carl Ziegler Award from the German Chemical Society and the National Science Medal (Priestley Medal) of the United States. In 2011, he won the Schulich Award from the Technion.

Prof. Marks is a world-renowned expert in many fields including the acceleration of chemical reactions, printed electronics and solar energy conversion devices. He has developed many and varied types of recyclable plastics, displays and electronic components and cells for converting solar energy into electricity. His areas of expertise include chemistry of polymers and metals, photonic materials, superconductors and organic aspects of metal chemistry.

Plasticity in the early development of the visual system

Prof. Carla Schatz (Carla J. Shatz) receives the award for her discoveries regarding the formation of neural circuits in the visual system and their function. Her main contribution includes fundamental discoveries about how neural circuits in the visual system undergo a process of fine-tuning through experience and neural activity. These discoveries about the neural and molecular circuits have medical implications concerning the treatment of memory disorders in old age and neurodevelopmental diseases.

Prof. Schatz, born in 1947, is a professor of biology and neurobiology at Stanford University. She completed a bachelor's degree in chemistry at Radcliffe College, which now operates as part of Harvard University, a doctorate (M.Phil) in physiology at University College London and a doctorate (Ph.D) in neurobiology at Harvard Medical School in 1976. She did her doctorate at Harvard under the guidance of professors David Hubel and Torsten Wiesel , who won the Nobel Prize in Medicine for 1981, and upon receiving the degree she became the first woman to complete a doctorate in neurobiology at Harvard. She was elected to many professional societies including the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and won many awards in neuroscience including the Gerrard Award, the Grover Award and the Cavali Award.

Leave a Reply

Email will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismat to prevent spam messages. Click here to learn how your response data is processed.