Comprehensive coverage

Prof. Adi Shamir, and his colleagues for the development of RSA won the most important prize in the world in mathematics

Prof. Adi Shamir, 51 years old, from the Department of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics at the Weizmann Institute - is one of the 3 winners of the Turing Award for 2002; The award was given to them for work in developing a method for transmitting encrypted messages

dill. The third Israeli to win the prestigious award

Direct link to this page:

Prof. Adi Shamir from the Department of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science, is one of the three winners of the Turing Prize for 2002. The Turing Prize is the world's most important prize in the field of computer science. Along with Shamir, Ronald Rivest and Leonard Edelman also won the award this year. The award was given to them for their work in developing an encryption method. The award will be presented to Prof. Shamir and his partners at a special ceremony to be held on June 7 in San Diego, California.

Prof. Shamir, 51 years old, holds a Master's and a Master's degree from the Feinberg School of the Weizmann Institute of Science. In 1980 he was appointed an associate professor at the institute, and in 1984 he was promoted to the rank of professor. Shamir is the third Israeli to win this prestigious award. Before him, it was won by Prof. Michael Rabin from the Hebrew University (1976), and Prof. Amir Panoli from the Weizmann Institute of Science (1996).

The three winners developed the encryption method in 1977, while working at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MIT. The encryption method they developed allows the transmission of encrypted and signed messages, and their appearance between secret partners who have never met.

The method is based on multiplying two very large prime numbers together. The safety of the encryption stems from the long period of time - estimated at thousands of years - that would be required for an unauthorized person to decipher the cipher. The method is applied today, among other things, in "smart cards" installed in television sets, in the fields of economics, banking and political communication.

The Turing Prize is named after the British mathematician Alan Turing (1954-1912), who is considered the father of modern computer science. Turing is the one who managed to crack Germany's encryption system in World War II. The prize is awarded by the World Association of Computer Scientists to scientists who have made an original contribution of long-term importance to the advancement of computer science.

Yadan the third millennium

Leave a Reply

Email will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismat to prevent spam messages. Click here to learn how your response data is processed.